▲ top

  The Cape Fear Chapter MOAA : The Cape Fear Chapter Military Officers Association of America (MOAA) Photo Gallery: The Cape Fear Chapter Image Collection

Photos and slideshows
1521468631 / 0/

Annual Awards and Recognition Brunch at the Iron Mike Conference Center

Saint Patrick’s Day, March 17, 2018

President Chavez called the meeting to order and led the assembly in the Pledge of Allegiance. Chaplain Greg Williamson delivered the invocation.

The principal theme of this meeting was recognition of chapter members for their significant service and/or contributions to the chapter. Following brunch, President Chavez presented several awards.

Certificates of appreciation were presented to Argie Rodriguez, Carole Blanc, Carol Ivey, Tammy Beshlin, Maria Chavez, Don Gersh and Marty Williams. The ladies were also presented flower bouquets. Chapter coins were presented to Jim Wilde, John Hermann, Jim Fleming and Steve Byrnes.

Finally, the 2017 Robert F. DeMeter Chapter Service Award was presented to George Blanc for outstanding service to the chapter in his capacity as 2nd Vice President and Programs Chairman for the past 5 years. Assisting in the passing of the trophy was Ralph Hinrichs previous year recipient of the award.

The entertainment portion of the meeting included audio presentations of two classic Andy Griffith comedy monologues provided and introduced by Bruce Brown.

Bob Garman was the lucky winner of the 50/50 raffle taking home $60. Chaplain Williamson delivered the benediction and the meeting adjourned.