▲ top

  The Cape Fear Chapter MOAA : The Cape Fear Chapter Military Officers Association of America (MOAA) News and Events: What's Happening?

1589995452 / 0/


E.E. Smith High School and Terry Sanford High School AFJROTC units were selected as two of 79 units across the globe and two of seven in North Carolina to receive the 2019-20 Air Force JROTC Distinguished Unit with Merit Award.

This award recognizes Air Force JROTC units that have performed well above and beyond normal expectations, and that have distinguished themselves through outstanding service to their school and community while meeting the Air Force JROTC citizen development mission for America.

The Cape Fear Chapter is proud to extend its heartiest congratulations to both units, their leaders/instructors, and their entire corps of cadets for a significant achievement.

The E.E. Smith High School AFJROTC program’s leaders and Aerospace Science Instructors are: Retired USAF Lt. Col. Tom Glockzin, and Retired USAF CMSgt James Mitchell, Jr.

The Terry Sanford High School AFJROTC program is led by Aerospace Science Instructors: Retired USAF Capt. Timothy K. Peedin, and Retired USAF SMSgt Thomas Albanese.